*Where Bison Roamed* in print and my future writing

Hello my readers at GKS. I have just published a new 67 page paperback book titled Where Bison Roamed. It is a collection of ten essays on regional history, of southern Indiana and Kentucky. But it is not the Remembering Kentuckiana project that I had previously announced…

The internet is not permanent. In one sense, it is not real, as all the information on it does not exist in a tangible form. Censorship or an EMP could wipe it all away in a second. So I decided to take the best seven historical essays from this blog from 2018-2022 and put them in print, with the addition of three all new essays examining Southern foods, the history of the name of a little town, and whether or not the much storied “Wild West” was really just a continuation of the (just as cool!) Southern frontier. This new book is available on Amazon for $8.95. I chose a rather plain cover that is evocative of the Buffalo Trace, an ancient bison migration trail from Kentucky to the Illinois prairie.

I had considered whether to even announce the publication of Where Bison Roamed here on GKS, but I see (via monthly visitor totals) that the small audience I had when I ceased blogging five months ago are apparently still hanging in and checking my blog. Perhaps a few of them have an interest in frontier and antebellum Kentuckiana?

I am still planning on publishing my Remembering Kentuckiana book project, but under a more poetic title. It will consist of all new essays and be at least 120 pages in length. I am still reading books on history and visiting historical sites, with several day trips planned for this summer. I have read nearly 1,000 pages of material specifically focused on early Kentuckiana history since my last blog post five months ago. I hope to have this work in print sometime in late 2023 or early 2024.

I have a short theological title I have considered working on also, examining *modern* Dispensationalism in light of the *traditional* Reformed view of the 70th week of Daniel. I may work on that this year, simultaneously with my Kentuckiana project, or I may let it go for a while.

Whatever work(s) I publish in the future I will announce here on GKS. Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “*Where Bison Roamed* in print and my future writing

  1. Thank you for this friend!! I plan to order this for my husband for Fathers Day. You mentioned a book on Dispensationalism….I’ve been looking into the hyper-dispensational issues that are prevalent in the “Church of Christ” sect that I came out of. They teach that there was one way of being saved in the O.T. and a different way of being saved in the N.T.

    But this doesn’t really come out into the open until they try to explain away the salvation of the thief on the cross without baptism. Only then does it become clear that they are promoting a type of two-gospel theory. Yet, it seems that no one has ever really paid much attention to this issue.

    Even most reformed Baptists don’t seem to realize how important this issue is, and the fact that our 1689 Baptist Confession even has articles of faith on the importance of realizing the everlasing covenant (the gospel) has never changed, for it has always remained the same despite changes in dispensations that have had different modes of administration throughout redemptive history.
    If you are interested, I would really appreciate any edification that you could possibly offer, because I have never been an expert in this area. I really need to know whether or not I am on the right track concerning these dispensational issues.

    I have an in-depth article about this on my blog if you ever want to look it over… under the essay title dedicated to the memory of my beloved grandmother. I go into depth about the thief on the cross and the everlasting covenant. We hope your endeavors for the Lord succeed as well. Prayers….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Lee Anne,
      Thank you for ordering *Where Bison Roamed* I was not sure how many of my readers would be interested in regional history.
      You make an excellent point about the thief on the cross. I will have to check out your article sometime. My parents were briefly in the Christian church (Campbellite oriented I believe) before my birth, but like many there, did not really grasp the core doctrines being taught there. My childhood was Wesleyan, my teenage years Independant Fundamental Baptist, and my Reformed studies started about a decade ago. I like the 1689 Baptist and 1647 Westminster confessions, and have been studying the Dutch Reformed. I have recently been reading up on the history of Pentecostalism, as it is very common here, and some of my extended family have been ensnared by that pernicious movement and I would like to help them see its errors.
      When I mentioned Dispensationalism I was primarily referring to eschatology, but one cannot examine it without also addressing the gospel, who is the church, and covenants. It can get rather deep rather quickly!
      In line with what you wrote about the thief on the cross, what came to my mind is Paul’s conversion -where he does not say a form prayer, does not ask to be “saved” or for Jesus to “come into his heart”, does not walk an aisle, and was not “lead to the Lord” by someone. It looks like the power of a sovereign God struck Paul down and regenerated him on the spot, at which point he acknowledged Christ as Lord.
      Joe

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dixiebelle47,
      I hope you enjoy *Where Bison Roamed*. I just cannot seem to suppress the urge to write. It is always nice when you comment.
      Joe

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe! I am locked out of my regular email (katesdaughter17@gmail.com). CanNOT get back in as yet. Will you contact me by text at my cell
    Was SO glad to see your article at Reckonin! 💃👍🏻💃👍🏻💃
    Thanks.
    Lynne Neal

    Like

Leave a comment